Guest Post: Don’t Ignore the Human Factor With Dogs

Guest poster Bam, a great dog available from Northeast Ohio Lab Rescue of North Jackson, Ohio. Please go to their Petfinder page and fill out an application is you’re interested in adding this sweet girl to your family.

Every dog starts life with a blank canvas. His destiny etched by the hands of the painter, and each one an artist’s original. … Every dog is a product of its environment. Bad dogs are not born, they are created. If the portrait is flawed, look at the artist. Stop blaming the dogs. – Author unknown

Hi, my name is Bam. I’m currently living in a foster home with four other dogs and a human who thinks that if he puts my picture on his blog more people will want to read it.

I can’t argue with that.

Seriously, I’m here to discuss a subject near and dear to my heart: That when you see something that you consider wrong about a dog, it’s often humans who are the cause.

Take me, for instance, I’m a pretty shy dog. I’m sometimes scared of people. I don’t know why I’m like this – my foster dad won’t pay for a shrink to help me figure it out – but I’m really a good dog. Just as good as my foster brother and sisters who like everybody and, in the case of a couple of them, think respecting personal space is a suggestion, as opposed to what you’re supposed to do in polite society.

About Rick Elia

Rick Elia wrote for a newspaper for over 20 years, until he stopped doing that. After that he did some (mostly perfectly legal) stuff we don’t want to talk about. He started writing Facebook posts as therapy for the trauma of the 2016 presidential election. One day he came up with the idea of putting his writings into a blog. So he did. Previously, he created two other blogs: The Folks from Patterson Avenue: http://www.pattersonavenue.blogspot.com 3 Dog Productions Video Village: http://www.3dogproductions.blogspot.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment